Candice Patton talks her audition for ‘The Flash’

The Flash star Candice Patton chatted with Huffington Post to talk about her latest TV gig. As you may have already know, Patton portrays the love interest of Barry, Iris West, on the hit CW series.

Keep reading for the scoop!

On her audition for The Flash:

My first audition was in December 2013 for the role of Iris West. I first read with our amazing casting director David Rapport. He liked my audition and asked me to come back later in the day with a different shirt. (I was wearing a plaid blue shirt and I guess I looked like too much like a farm girl). I read later that day for David Nutter (the director) and a few producers, I believe. I bombed. I forgot a line, something about “Channing Tatum” and had to start over. From that point, nerves took over. That was the end of it as far as I knew and I was pretty bummed about it.

I didn’t hear back until late January 2014. They wanted me to come back in and read with Grant Gustin. I remember seeing Jordin Sparks in waiting room. In the audition during my first reading with Grant I remember I tickled him. I don’t know why I did, but I just had the urge to tickle him.

I read for the studio, then the network and remember being sick to my stomach with nerves before the last audition. Hours went by, I didn’t hear anything. Then I had to go audition for another pilot. Still hours went by and didn’t hear anything. Then, after not hearing anything all day, I was started thinking it was over again. Finally, the call came in from my managers. It was around 6pm on a Friday. I fell to my knees and the first call I made after that was to my parents.

On her typical day on the set:

I find out the day before sometimes pretty late what my call time is for the next day. I know what time I’ll be at work, but I don’t know how long I will be there. It depends on how many scenes I’m shooting that day, how complicated the scenes are, how fast the director works, etc.

I self-drive to set. First stop when I’m on set is my trailer. I like to set my stuff down, and lock the door. Be in my own space for a few minutes. Answer some fan mail, set the lighting just right, turn on my fireplace (it’s cold in Canada). Then I’m off to hair and makeup.

I usually stay away from Craft Services (food), so I’m not picking. If I’m hungry between meal times, I will have someone go get something for me from Craft Services (my usual: veggie plate – cucumbers, grape tomatoes, bell peppers, carrots, snap peas, avocado and hummus. Having someone get my usual go to healthy snacks keeps me from lingering around the crafty table and picking up that cinnamon roll I really want, but don’t need.

I learn my lines in a few different ways. A lot of my dialogue sticks with me in a general sort of way when I read the entire script for the first or second time. Then when I get the shooting schedule I have a better idea of what scenes are shooting when. I then will focus on those that are coming up first. I don’t worry too much about learning lines per se. The memorization is the easy part for me, usually. For me it more about working on the context, back story, intention, motivation, etc. Once that’s in place, the lines come pretty naturally.

The Flash airs every Tuesday at 8PM on the CW.

Leave a Reply

