Jim Parsons talks playing Sheldon & his preparations for ‘An Act of God’ on Broadway

On the heels of the successful animated movie “Home”, Jim Parsons is adding a new, divine role in his resume.

The Big Bang Theory star will portray the titular role in “An Act of God” on Broadway, beginning on May 5.

Parsons chatted with Huffington Post to talk about his preparations for the play which is based on David Javerbaum‘s (The Daily Show) book, “The Last Testament: A Memoir By God”.

Keep reading for the scoop!

On memorizing lines as Sheldon Cooper vs. his lines on the play as the Almighty:

It’s a funny thing. I have a couple more episodes to shoot and then in the past month two months I’ve been doing all this press for the animated movie “Home.” Every moment I have a chance to drink coffee in the morning or a moment to read, I’m like, “You should probably run some lines. You should run, you know, the ninth commandment or whatever.” So these weird quotes and these weird phrasings just run through my head — “thou art” and “thou shalt” and things like that. It’s a weird place where one might need therapy afterwards. It can be tough to deal with the Sheldon stuff, some more than others. I will say the blessing of the television show is that you only have to know it once and you can take a few takes to do it. The frightening part, and the invigorating part, but frightening-before-you-do-it part, of theater is that it’s one night and one night only as far as that crowd witnessing the story that night. But certainly a television show and doing 24 episodes in nine months, you have five days with each one and you’re just never, ever gong to know it at that level that you can know something you’re doing at the theater.

On whether reading the Bible is an essential preparation to his new role:

Well, with the Sheldon stuff — the science stuff — the strongest part of my research would be just learning to pronounce things, and secondarily I do always make a passing effort at trying to figure out what the hell this might represent. But there are times that it is literally gibberish to me and I just hope I’m putting my inflection in a place that makes it sound sort of like I know what I’m talking about. The God stuff is actually a lot easier to understand. You may not want to always, but it really seems to be easier. Party because I took a lot more God, if you will, than I took science in my lifetime because I was raised going to church every Sunday. So we don’t touch on anything in this play that is unfamiliar to me. In fact, I think it’s been more about touching on things where I go, “My, I haven’t thought about that in a long time.” Old stories from the Bible come up. So in that way, no. The biggest thing I’ve done so far is make sure I have really strict in my head the precise definitions of “omnipotent,” “omniscient” and “omnipresent” because they come up several times and every once in a while, when I’m running through all these lines, I’m like, “Wait wait wait, which one of the O’s is this?” And it helps to remember exactly what each of those is. I mean, I know what they are, but every once in a while you’re like, “Shit, is it ‘omnipresent’ or ‘omniscient’ right now? Hmm.” Context is everything.

Leave a Reply

